Skip to content

Spotlight – Malik B

Open all year round, our Ironton facility works hard to provide patients with the highest quality products possible. We would like to introduce you to Malik B. Malik has exhibited such growth and passion as a Cultivation Associate, we are so proud to announce that he is now our new Fertigation and Propagation Lead!

Q: How would you describe the culture you experience at Harvest?

The culture at Harvest of Ohio is goal oriented. Most everyone is on the same page about helping the patients that we serve.

Q: Do you feel that you are making history in the medical marijuana industry? Why?

Absolutely, every day that harvest of Ohio stays open works to change the stigma of cannabis in Ohio. Both medically and as a plant.

Q: What do you want to accomplish in your new leadership position?

My biggest goal is to get everybody on the same page as far as standards of operation, consistency, and communication throughout the department. If everyone feels like part of a team, we can perform as a team.

Q: What is your favorite part about coming to work?

100% the plants. There’s something very therapeutic about being around that many living organisms in the same room.

Q:How would you say that the medical marijuana industry is different than any other industry?

What sets the medical marijuana industry apart from others is that you have several different types of roles in the same industry. From cultivation and plant work, marketing and sales, processing, deliveries, to management and public relations, there really is a role for anyone interested in joining the industry.

Q:What motivates you to create change in your job?

My biggest motivator is the growing nature of the company. Just like the seedlings we use in cultivation it’s important to do things right from the beginning with anything that you want to grow. Be it a plant or a startup company.

Q: What is your favorite TV show?

My favorite tv show is The Simpsons. It’s a ridiculous cartoon but at the heart it’s a family show and I’ve always liked that.

Q: How many languages do you speak?

Fluently I speak one language but I’m working on pig-Latin.

Q:Are you an introvert or an extrovert?

I would say I get my energy from others but make it a priority to have alone time. I guess that makes me an introvert.

Q:What is your favorite childhood memory?

My favorite childhood memory is when I first learned to ride a bike. It took all day but my family, cousins too, all stayed out there until I got it. I didn’t understand why they were so sure I would get it but I did. That’s a great feeling.

Q:If you could do anything new for one day, what would it be?

Scuba diving. I love the water so being able to breath in water for a day would be amazing.

Q:What genres of music do you listen to?

I like all kinds of music but lately I’ve been into indie and house music pretty exclusively.